Annette Bergewron

Annette Bergeron, Chair, Board of Directors, Receives Governor General’s Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers

Mississauga, ON – April 21, 2021 – The Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) is honoured and delighted to congratulate Annette Bergeron, ESA’s Board Chair, on receiving the Governor General’s Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers. 

The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General recognized 141 individuals as recipients of the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers (SMV) in 2021.  The Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers is a national award that recognizes the volunteer achievements of Canadians from across the country in a wide range of fields.  The Award is the highest honour for volunteer service that an individual can receive within the Canadian Honours System. Recipients of the Award embody the caring country that Canada aspires to build. The passion, dedication and a commitment to community are the driving forces behind the volunteers who receive the Award.
“It is my distinct pleasure to congratulate Ms. Bergeron, Chair, Board of Directors, on her distinguished achievement in receiving the Governor General’s Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers.  This Medal demonstrates her on-going commitment and passion for improving her community and Canada as a whole,” says David Collie, President & Chief Executive Officer, Electrical Safety Authority.

Over the past 10 years, Annette Bergeron has volunteered on the executive boards of national and provincial engineering organizations. She also chaired several committees for the Kingston General Hospital, including the community outreach committee, and the research and education committee. Ms. Bergeron was appointed as Chair of ESA’s Board of Directors in January 2021. Ms. Bergeron has served on ESA’s Board of Director’s for the past six years and has held the position of Chair on several of ESA’s Board committees.

About the Electrical Safety Authority

The Electrical Safety Authority's (ESA’s) role is to enhance public electrical safety in Ontario. As an administrative authority acting on behalf of the Government of Ontario, ESA is responsible for administering specific regulations related to the Ontario Electrical Safety Code, the licensing of Electrical Contractors and Master Electricians, electricity distribution system safety, and electrical product safety. ESA works extensively with stakeholders throughout the province on education, training and promotion to foster electrical safety across the province.

More information on the Electrical Safety Authority can be found at, through and on Facebook at

Media Enquiries

For further information:
Electrical Safety Authority
905-712-7819 or